Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In
News & Press: Youth Program

Youth Leadership Oklahoma Class 19 Announced

Friday, May 24, 2019  
Posted by: Tina Biard
Share |
 OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla., April 8, 2019—Youth Leadership Oklahoma Class 19 Announced.

Leadership Oklahoma selects 52 rising high school seniors through a competitive process based on proven leadership, geographic, ethnic and cultural diversity to participate in its annual Youth Leadership Oklahoma (YLOK) class program. YLOK Class 19 members will travel the state during a week-long trip to learn about Oklahoma’s history, culture, issues and leaders and begin to develop a greater understanding and appreciation for our state. Youth Leadership Oklahoma (YLOK) was created in 2001 with the mission to develop in young leaders a feeling of hope, pride and a responsibility for Oklahoma’s future. Over 850 students have participated in this one of a kind program.

The all-expense paid weeklong program begins and ends in Oklahoma City. Other cities visited throughout the week will include Norman, Lawton, Tecumseh, Tulsa, Stillwater, and Enid. In each community, YLOK Class 19 will learn about Oklahoma’s resources, issues and treasures, meet with state leaders and further develop their own leadership skills.

“Thanks to YLOK, I have a sense of hope for Oklahoma’s future, but I also recognize the responsibility that I have to invest in that future.” said Josie Frazier, a YLOK Class 18 participant. “The leadership opportunities through YLOK helped me learn about trust, problem-solving, communication, cooperation, and career opportunities, while helping me understand why Oklahoma is a great place to build a future.”

“Leadership Oklahoma is very excited about the fifty-two young people chosen for this year’s program. YLOK Class 19 is an outstanding blend of student leadership from across the state.” said Michele Campbell, State Director at Oklahoma Small Business Development Center at Southeastern Oklahoma State University and Leadership Oklahoma’s Class 19 Youth Program Chair.

Members of YLOK Class 19 and their respective high schools are: Delaney Barghols, Crossings Christian School; Adyson Blakey, Stillwater High School; Abby Boyer, Carl Albert High School; Elden Bruner, Edmond North High School; Karstyn Cantrell, Skiatook High School; Zile Cao, Norman North High School; Jaycie Cash, Laverne High School, Andrew Celedon, MacArthur High School, Ford Collier, Bishop McGuinness; Daniel Coronado, Classen School of Advanced Studies; Gentry Cox, Duncan High School; Sebastian Diosdado, Clinton High School; Sarah Easterly, Chisholm High School; Hadi Fawad, Norman High School; Lincoln Fitts, Duncan High School; Kulsoom Ghias, Edmond Memorial High School; Luke Hamilton, Pauls Valley High School; Beyonce Hammond, Moore High School; Zane Hermen, Heritage Hall School; Noah Hightower, Watonga High School; Ainsley Hime, Norman North High School; Rakin Hussain, Edmond Santa Fe High School; Tobias Johnson, Piedmont High School; Ben Johnson, Stilwell High School; Makinley Kennedy, MacArthur High School; Kimrey Klamm, Enid High School; Lizzie Koonce, Norman High School; Brennan Lacy, Stillwater High School; Owen Lassahn, Plainview High School; Caleb Laverty, Shattuck High School; Tayten Lierle, Hydro Eakly High School; Lydia Lytle, Bishop McGuinness High School; Dulce Martinez, Capitol Hill High School; Chance McGill, Barnsdall High School; Will Michael, Westmoore High School; Kailey O'Connor, Mount Saint Mary High School; Giovani Ortega, Southeast High School; Mason Phillips, Durant High School
Reid Rasnic, Norman North High School, Kenzie Reeves, Moore High School, Mohammad Sajawal, Putnam City West High School; Hannah Sapp, Strother High School; Fiza Sheikh, Edmond Santa Fe High School; Emma Stafford, Durant High School; Mary Streller, Oklahoma Christian School; Ava Swanson, Cache High School; Julia Sylvester, Drumright High School; Anna Taylor, Skiatook High School; Ty Tetrick, Holland Hall; Corbin Walls, Miami High School; Chara Ward, Holland Hall; and, Ford Watkins, Casady School.

Support for the program is provided by the Inasmuch Foundation; the McCasland Foundation; the Noble Foundation; the Mary K. Chapman Foundation; American Fidelity, the Hardesty Family Fund; Nahbolz Construction; Devon Energy; Sonic, America’s Drive-In; numerous individual donations and the Leadership Oklahoma General Fund. To provide support for the program or for more information please contact Marion Paden, President and CEO, Leadership Oklahoma, 405-848-0001 or

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal